Allergy Free Almond Joy!

Hey Y’all!

Happy Friday! This is Rae Ann and today I am blessing you with a delicious recipe for when you’re really just craving a candy bar.

One of my biggest hobbies happens to be baking and so when I started to adapt to this lifestyle of eating better and eliminating certain substances, I had to find a way to replace them or exchange them for something else. I think a common misconception is that when you are eating healthy and when you get rid of gluten or dairy, that means that you can never have normal food again or you can’t just bake whatever you want and have it taste good. WELL, that is so far from the truth I can’t help but laugh. I bake all the time with the help of my gluten free flours and different substitutes that I told you about in my previous post, “What’s on your shopping list?” That being said, here is a recipe I feel is completely appropriate for the theme of this blog.

                                                                   Gluten and Dairy Free Almond Joys!   

Takes about 10 minutes to make- serves 6

Ingredients:       

  • 16-20 oz of dark chocolate
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1 cup dry unsweetened coconut flakes
  • Raw Almonds
  • 1/2 Stevia packet (optional if you want it a little sweeter)

Directions:  

  1. Line a cupcake pan
  2. Melt the dark chocolate. I prefer to work with the microwave over a double boiler but it is your own preference. I chose to use increments of 1 minute followed by 30 seconds at a time. Don’t burn your chocolate!
  3. Place about a teaspoon of chocolate in each liner. Using a spoon, spread it around to the edges. I’m heavy handed so I always accidentally do about a tablespoon, I JUST LIKE CHOCOLATE.
  4. Place the cups in the fridge to set up.
  5. In a smaller bowl, mix together your coconut oil (melted), coconut flakes, and Stevia.
  6. Add about a tablespoon of the coconut mixture to the center of the chocolate cups. If it all possible, make it more centered and ball-ish.
  7. Place your almond on top!
  8. Add another tablespoon of chocolate on top of the coconut mixture, make sure it gets down on the sides and fills the open spaces.
  9. Let this all harden in the fridge for about 10.
  10. Enjoy!

I got this amazing recipe from an adorable mommy blog-  “Smashed Peas and Carrots” and then changed it up a bit.

All of the ingredients are so natural and not processed that it is incredibly hard to regret eating them. I just think it is so important that people learning to follow this lifestyle realize that it is not a death sentence, it isn’t a punishment that you’re going to have to deal with every day. Yes, you will have to make changes and sometimes you are just really going to want pizza and won’t be able to call Papa Johns just because you want to. BUT you can go to the local grocery store and pick up a gluten free pizza crust and get some natural ingredients to put on it. This is about adapting, exchanging and growing.

I hope you guys get to try this awesome recipe soon!

With Gluten and Dairy Free love,

Rae Ann       

* I am having some technical difficulties with the images, I’ll get them up ASAP!

Leave a Reply

